Ancestry® Library Edition (for in-library use only) Includes billions of records from around the world, including from U.S., U.K., and Canadian census and vital records, immigration and passport records, periodicals and books, photos, and more. Print forms to use to collect information about your family history
Driving-Tests.org, a company dedicated to driver safety and education, offers free Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) practice tests. The practice tests are based on Illinois’s actual DMV materials. Driving-Tests.org is the only site of its kind to provide accessibility tools that let users hear selections read aloud, convert them to MP3, translate pages into other languages, magnify text, and mask portions of the screen for greater visibility on the driving practice tests.
First Search searches for books and other materials in libraries worldwide, articles in all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing using MEDLINE, scholarly journals, and the World Almanac.
Gale Virtual Reference Library contains full-text articles on almost any topic, from business and law, to medicine, social science, and religion. This is a good source for biographical information, too. The Gale Virtual Reference Library is the online version of over 300 multi-disciplinary reference sources. (The password for outside of library access is “remote”)
Illinois Legal Aid contains information about your legal rights and responsibilities, referrals to free and low cost legal aid offices, and forms and instructions for representing yourself.
MasterFILE Elite (by EBSCO) accesses articles from over 1000 current, popular magazines. This database provides full-text for more than 1,050 general publications with coverage dating as far back as 1984, covering virtually every subject area of general interest.
NoveList Plus contains information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles. Features lists of award-winning books, discussion guides, read-a-like recommendations, and complete series information. Also includes reader ratings and reviews. You can also create your own reading wish list.